The St. Lawrence County Seat

Newly Elected Municipal Officials

November 8, 2017

Election Day 2017 brought some changes to Canton. In the Village, Mayor Mike Dalton was reelected to a two-year term, as were Trustees Sean O’Brien and Carol Pynchon. Klaus Proemm was elected to a one-year term, filling out Dwight Stevenson’s Trustee term. The Village held its reorganizational meeting and swearing in on Monday, December 4, 2017.

On the Town side, Mary Ann Ashley was elected to her first four-year term as Supervisor. Councilmen Jim Smith was reelected to a four-year term and Tim Danehy was also elected to a four-year term. Phil LaMarche was elected to a two-year term; he is filling out an unexpired term Also reelected were Town Clerk Lisa Hammond and Highway Superintendent Terry Billings. Mike Morgan won his first term as County Justice. The Town’s organizational meeting and swearing-in ceremony were Wednesday, January 3, 2018.

[Pictured in photo on election night, left to right: Beth Larrabee, Mike Dalton, Carol Pynchon, Phil LaMarche, Tim Danehy, Mary Ann Ashley, Sean O’Brien, Klaus Proemm, Bob Washo]

Last modified: January 11, 2018