The St. Lawrence County Seat

Reimagining Canton Recreation

We have taken the opportunity that has presented itself – the unexpected resignation of the Recreation Director and the challenges presented by COVID – to take a step back and evaluate the direction and programming of Canton’s Recreation Department.

The public was invited to comment on the group’s recommendations at a virtual public forum; a recording of the meeting can be viewed here. Feedback may also be provided using this Feedback Response Form.

Final Recommendations

Advisory Group

Tim Abplanalp
Brianna Atkins
Paul Baxter
Jonathan Carls
Erin Casey
Colleen Coakley
Kyle Flanagan
Michael Hammond
Michael Haycook
Toby Irven
Matilda Larson
Sarah Maneely
Mark McKenna
Matt Metcalf
Heather Newcombe
Jake Newman
John O’Connor
Frank Palumbo
Bill Porter
Leigh-Anne Redfern
Meghan Richardson
Miranda Schryver
Wendy Todd
Carla Wentworth


The group will meet in January and February to consider many aspects of our recreation program – what we have and value, what needs and gaps exist, how we might accomplish the change we’d like to see, and who could be partners in making that happen.

12/15/20 meeting notes

1/7/21 meeting notes

1/19/21 meeting notes

Budget Breakdown

Recreation Assets Inventory

2/3/21 meeting notes

If you have thoughts or questions, please contact anyone in the advisory group or any member of the Canton Recreation Committee: Tim Danehy, Beth Larrabee, Carol Pynchon, or Martha Foley Smith.

Comments are closed.